Aries The Ram – March 21st – April 20th

Aries The Ram

Aries is the First Sign of the Zodiac, the point where it begins its cycle on the Vernal Equinox. Thus, it is the herald of the Astrological New Year. Symbolized by an animal of great courage, Aries is related to dawn, the Season of Spring, and the beginning of life. Much like the Spirit of Spring, those born under Aries are forever looking forward, never backward. In essence, Aries governs leadership and initiative, as well as using energy to make things happen. Aries subjects are vital, instinctual and forever young…the perpetual Children of the Zodiac who are constantly in search of identity. These are joyful, dynamic, assertive, outspoken and brave individuals who celebrate life, but who can also be intolerant, impatient, impulsive and overly-emotional. There is a deficient capacity here for self-reflection and a tendency to take ill-considered risks. Those born under the Sign of Aries should strive to direct their power toward mature and constructive ends, as well as attempting to master the slow process of self-education, if they are to bring to fruition the projects they begin with such elemental enthusiasm.

The origin of the symbol…or glyph…for Aries is unknown. The symbol of the ram appeared for the first time in Ancient Egypt. It was depicted as the head of Amun, considered to be the leading deity whom all other gods followed. At that time, the head of a goose was also used to represent this Zodiac Sign, and the two symbols were often interchanged. In the Babylonion Zodiac, Hunga (The Hired Hand) symbolized Aries. The modern interpretation of this glyph likens it to the horns of a ram. In Vedic Astrology, it is said to be symbolic of the upward flow of Spirit…as in a fountain…the universal consciousness in its creative aspect. It is also thought to be representative of a sprouting seed, from which germination results in the tree and fruit. In its seed form, it is said to symbolize potentiality. As this symbol appears to move upward then outward and finally downward, it signifies the ultimate sacrifice of Spirit in its descent into the Realms of Matter.

Also known as the Sign of the Pioneer or Warrior, Aries is Positive in polarity (as are Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius and Aquarius). The general characteristics of Positive Signs broadly match those for the extrovert personality and such individuals are naturally more impulsive, buoyant, communicative and sociable than are the Zodiac Signs of Negative polarity (Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn and Pisces). However, Positive Signs rarely display the same levels of sensitivity or the same depth of understanding of emotional subtleties as do their Negative counterparts. Positive Signs tend to crave excitement and thus, are inclined to direct their energies outward into the world around them. Aries is the most flagrantly extrovert of the Positive Signs (with Sagittarius a close second).

All Zodiac Signs governed by the Elements of Fire and Air are considered to be Masculine in nature. Thus, Aries (ruled by fire) is considered Masculine (as are Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius and Aquarius). Masculine signs are traditionally conceived as being more active and less receptive than their Feminine counterparts which are ruled by the Elements of Earth and Water (the Zodiac Signs of Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn and Pisces). Masculine Signs focus primarily on spirituality and activity…both in the physical sense and mental sense. Masculine Signs are said to be diurnal or day-oriented. Therefore, the term “masculine” should be viewed in the same light as the Yang (or bright) Polarity of the Tao.

Aries is the natural ruler of the First House of the Zodiac, commonly referred to as the “House of Self” and known in Vedic Astrology as the “Horoskopos” or “Helm.” This is the field of experience in which an individual is challenged to develop his or her own unique personality and present it to the world. Traditionally, the First House is associated with self and personal appearance…how an individual wishes to appear outwardly (with regard to both physical appearance and personal style, which may or may not be consistent with the inner self). It is associated with look, moves, gestures, body language and how a person appears to others on a superficial or “first impression” level. Essentially, it is the projection of an individual’s “image.” Early childhood is also ruled by the this House…everything from a toddler’s initial steps to a young person’s view of the emerging world. The First House is governed by the Planet Mars.

The opposite sign to Aries is Libra. From Libra, Aries will learn to cooperate, share and bring people together in harmony. Thus, can Aries natives learn to express their ideas actively but tactfully and, in so doing, find much needed balance.

Positive Traits: pioneering, adventurous, energetic, courageous, enterprising, confident, dynamic, quick-witted and freedom-loving

Negative Traits: selfish, quick-tempered, impulsive, impatient, foolhardy and undiplomatic

Likes: action, challenge, spontaneity, championing causes and coming in first

Dislikes: waiting, tyranny, failure, lack of opposition and the advice of others

Spiritual Goal: To learn the meaning of selfless love

Spiritual Correspondence: The Seraphim

Apostle: Peter

Prophet: Malachi

Anatomy: Rules the head, face, brain and upper teeth

Corresponding Tarot Card: The Emperor

Associated Countries: England, France, Germany and Poland

Associated Cities: Florence, Naples, Marseilles, Krakow and Verona

Animals: Ram, Sheep and Owl

Watchword: Action

Keynote: Hope

Physical Manifestation: Impetus

Mental Manifestation: Enterprise

Motto: Never Defeated

Quote: I Am


Leave a Reply